Rudolfo Anaya's Original Manuscripts

Rudolfo Anaya's catalog of monographic (book-length) works included a wide variety of fiction and non-fiction works. For each book that he writes, Anaya generally produces several draft manuscripts. The list below includes all of the fiction and non-fiction manuscripts in the collections of the Center for Southwest Research at the University of New Mexico. Click on a title below to view the complete list of manuscripts for each work. Click the View link next to each manuscript record to open a digital reproduction of the manuscript in a special viewer.

Published Works

Bless Me, Última (1972)

View Manuscripts

Heart of Aztlán (1976)

View Manuscripts

Voices from the Rio Grande (1976)

Tortuga (1979)

View Manuscripts

Cuentos: Tales from the Hispanic Southwest (1980)

Ceremony of Brotherhood (1981)

Silence of the Llano : Short Stories (1982)

View Manuscripts

Cuentos Chicanos (1984)

The Legend of La Llorona: A Short Novel (1984)

View Manuscripts

The Adventures of Juan Chicaspatas (1985)

A Chicano in China (1986)

Lord of the Dawn : The Legend of Quetzalcóatl (1987)

View Manuscripts

Voces: An Anthology of Nuevo Mexicano Writers (1987)

Flow of the River (1988)

Aztlán: Essays on the Chicano Homeland (1989)

Tierra: Contemporary Short Fiction of New Mexico (1989)

Alburquerque (1992)

View Manuscripts

Descansos: An Interrupted Journey (1995)

The Anaya Reader (1995)

The Farolitos of Christmas (1995)

Zia Summer (1995)

View Manuscripts

Jalamanta : A Message from the Desert (1996)

View Manuscripts

Muy Macho: Latino Men Confront Their Manhood (1996)

Rio Grande Fall (1996)

View Manuscripts

Maya's Children: The Story of La Llorona (1997)

Farolitos for Abuelo (1999)

My Land Sings: Stories from the Rio Grande (1999)

Shaman Winter (1999)

View Manuscripts

Roadrunner's Dance (2000)

The Santero's Miracle: A Bilingual Story (2004)

Jemez Spring (2005)

View Manuscripts

The Curse of the ChupaCabra (2006)

The Man Who Could Fly (2006)

The First Tortilla (2007)

ChupaCabra and the Roswell UFO (2008)

The Essays (2009)

Billy the Kid and Other Plays (2011)

Randy Lopez Goes Home (2011)

How Hollyhocks Came to New Mexico (2012)

The Old Man's Love Story (2013)

Poems from the Rio Grande (2015)

Elegy on the Death of César Chávez (2000)

Unpublished Works

Serafina's Stories (2004)